And Canada Wins The Games!!!!


With 13 gold medals already, and only 2 left to be awarded, Canada has officially won the 2010 winter Olympics.

Our closest rival, Germany, is eligible for only one of the remaining two available golds, while Canada will be in contention for both.

At 13 golds, Canada officially matches the record for most gold medals earned by any one nation at an Olympic winter games.  Should we win gold in either the mens 50k alpine skiing, or mens ice hockey, Canada will become the leader in gold medal wins in a single winter Olympics.

Canada has also become the leading gold medal winner of any host nation at a winter Olympics, not to mention having shattered their own record for gold medals at any one Olympics!

I cannot express the pride I have in both my country, and its amateur athletes.  Vancouver, Canada, and all of Team Canada have made me one hell of a proud Canadian.

I won’t bore you all by recounting stories you all know so well, but suffice it to say I have found myself choked up on more than one occasion during these games.  The strength of character, body and mind I’ve witnessed has left me in awe, and at times, truly, truly humbled.

I will never forget these wonderful games, and the memories from them will list among the “greatest moments” in my personal hall of fame of sports moments.

And, for all I’ve bagged on Pro’s in the Olympics…tomorrow I’ll be first among those to be screaming Go Canada, Go!

GN

5 Responses to “And Canada Wins The Games!!!!”

  1. I managed to get my hands on a final draft of THE script – It begins, “Canada’s men’s hockey team readies for the Gold medal showdown against it’s arch rivals from the USA. Hockey supremacy, national pride, and the all-time, never-before-attained, top gold medal count in any Winter Olympic games by any given country are but a few of the honors on the line…”

  2. GelatinousMutantCoconut Says:

    I have never been prouder of my country. It’s a rought time economically and politically, but these games have reminded me what it really is to be Canadian.

    This even has been a huge victory for our country.

    I’m not ashamed to admit that I cried this morning when CTV did that montage of our athletes best performances, set to the “I Believe” song. I wish i had had the foresight to record it…

  3. GelatinousMutantCoconut Says:

    Oh and Luongo gets the shut-out to out-duel Miller.

    Iginla scores from Weber and Crosby mid-way through the third to make it 1-0.

    Toews scores an empty netter from Richards and Keith in the final minute.

    CANADA WINS GOLD!!!

  4. GelatinousMutantCoconut Says:

    I SO called it.

    Ok, it wasn’t with 37 seconds left, and Keith didn’t assist it, but Toews scores from Richards 😀

  5. Well, Canada won the Hockey gold. I guess that matters the most.

Leave a Reply

