A Real Struggle, A Real War.


Sometimes, in the world of professional sports, we lose so much perspective.

We begin throwing around terms like, “A War”, “Overcame”, and “Character”.

Now, it’s not to say these terms don’t apply, but only contextually.

It’s important to maintain that context.  To remember that, outside the glorified world of sports, real wars are being fought, real warriors are paying the ultimate price, and real people, are facing real adversity, the likes of which no athlete will ever encounter on the ice, no matter how high the stakes.

This week-end is the Canadian Thanksgiving.  And I’d like to tae this moment to give thanks.

Thank-you to our soldiers.  I know you are just men and women, just like me.  I’m not going to diminish your contribution by implying anything more than that.  You are afraid, just like I would be.  You are alone, just like I would be.  You are frustrated, just like I would be.  But, unlike me, you put your life on the line, every minute of every day.  I cannot imagine what that must be like.  And no matter our political views, the fact remains, these men and women are doing this, every day, on our behalf.

From my soul, I say thank-you.  You are no better than me, and even with those same human frailties, you still do so very much.  You are the ultimate citizen.

The other Thank-you I want to put out there, are to those who have suffered, and found the bravery to help prevent others from going through the same, at great cost to themselves.

This is not about religion, or sports, or politics, it’s about bravery.

Theo Fluery, Sheldon Kennedy, Shane Earle.  It hurts my soul to witness your struggles.  It makes me question the very root of the human condition, both good and bad.

Thank-you.  You are no better than me, and even with those same human frailties, you still do so very much.  You are the ultimate citizen.

Lastly, thank-you to all of those who have gone before us, that have helped shape this great nation we flourish in.  A nation of peace, prosperity, good health, and freedom.

Thank-you.  You were no better than me, and even with those same human frailties, you still did so very much.  You were the ultimate citizens.

Let us all give thanks on this day, for all of our blessings.

GN

One Response to “A Real Struggle, A Real War.”

  1. Great post GN and Happy Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

