The Ol’ Switcheroo?


I’m not so sure about the severity of the Shannon injury.

I just re-watched the last minutes of the NYR/OTT game, and Shannon was out there for the PP with under a minute to play.

Don’t get me wrong, he may well have some injuries, at least enough to warrant missing practice, but it seems equally reasonable to assume Donovan will be inserted vs. the Leafs more in favour of his size and grit, than in an effort to rehab Shannon.

If this is the case, I’m all for it.

I like Shannon, but the fact remains that he’s 180 lbs with 20 lbs of rocks in his pockets and Donovan, on the 4th line, brings considerably more bang, and no loss in speed.

With Donovan, Ruutu, Neil, Fisher, and Carkner dressed, the Sens should be able to deal with the Leafs “truculence” should the match turn mean.  It would appear Primeau is out, as is Mayers, in are Kulemin and Rosehill.  As for the goaltender…well, Wilson is role modelling truculence and refusing to provide that information…what a little…

And speaking of Fisher, what a tilt with the much bigger Voros.  He took some big punches, but rather than go down, he seemed to turn it up a notch and land some doozies of his own.

I don’t like seeing Fish fight, but, when he does, it’s always a good tilt.

GN

12 Responses to “The Ol’ Switcheroo?”

  1. this was the first time since Feb.09 that I’ve turned off a Sens game before the final buzzer went, and I’m sorry I did. From the sounds of it, I missed the best few minutes of the game.

  2. Too true.
    GN

  3. The weird thing was, I wasn’t all that disappointed with their play, all things considered.

    I actually thought it was a decent game… although I’ll admit, Spezza drove me buts when made a few too many of his patent-pending no-look passes to nobody. Kovy looked a bit sluggish, but displayed amazing puck control, and only gave it up a couple times. Karlsson…well… he’s young, so I’ll give him a pass for a few games.

    Can’t wait for tomorrow night’s game. If nothing else, it should be fun to watch.

  4. Yeah, it wasn’t a horrible performance, just a little too manic, no “click”. Had they buried even one more goal it would have likely resulted in a 4-3 loss, and been far more easily swept under the rug.
    GN

  5. Spezza made some boneheaded passes, but that pass to Alfie was solid. Not too many can put the puck on the tape in that situation.

  6. If you look at the new lines, it definitely gives some clout to what you’re saying sensay. I couldn’t make sense of the Regin line, but I wouldn’t be surprised if they were giving him a little protection.

  7. Campoli + Karlsson was a bizarre pairing. No idea what Clouston is thinking there.

  8. I’m pretty sure that was just on the pp.

    90%…

  9. Guys…this is an “AHL” defence group…

    Philly being urged to go on the offence.

    Volchy is slipping.

    Phillippe is lighter than ever.

    Campoli is good but too aggressive.

    Carkner looks like the “leader” and is truly a lifer from the AHL.

    Special K better sit with Alf on the plane and listen up!

    Note: Your best positional D-man is sittin’ in the Press Box talking to Bruce, who as usual is not listening.

  10. I think that’s a bit harsh Nik…Bruce is listening, he just can’t hear over the sound of crunching nachos.
    GN

  11. I can’t make heads or tails of Picard riding the pine… doesn’t make sense.

  12. Lee Zamparo Says:

    Reckon Picard will be in tonight. Why take a chance on Kuba playing hurt?

Leave a Reply

