Dany Boy, A Little Advice…


I’m not going to act like I ever want to see you play in the NHL again.

Because, I don’t.

That would be disingenuous of me.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t have some constructive advice for you.

Your 4M payment.

Yes, this is your money, regardless who has paid you.  But, as I’m sure you already discovered in life, sometimes the road back to respectability can be a rough one.  So long as you keep this “dirty” money, you will remain a man of questionable character.

So here is what I recommend you do.

Select a charity of your choice, preferably in Ottawa, or the in the city of the club making the payment, and donate this money.

Divest yourself from the stigma this money represents, and instead, turn it into, if nothing else, a peace offering.

Secondly, admit you were wrong.

Admit you were wrong in way you requested a trade.

Admit you were wrong in how you used the media to further your misguided agenda.

Admit you were wrong to disrespect the fans, organizations, your peers, and the NHL in your selfish pursuits.

Thirdly, and trust me Dany, 99.9% of me does not want you to do this, actually, make that 99.999999999999999999999999999% of me.

But, this is about you, not me.  You see, unlike what you’ve exhibited, I can put myself in the shoes of another, and empathize with their plight.

Return to Ottawa.

It will be rough.

Hell, it will be a nightmare.

But, if you do this, and be the player you can be, the one I think you believe you are, you will be forgiven…eventually.

Should you do this, I believe you will cleanse your reputation.

But if you do not, you will ALWAYS be Dany Heatley, the guy that will run away at the smallest slight.  You, no matter what you do on the ice, will always be regarded with an air of suspicion, and disrespect.

You’ve over-come a lot already.

You know it can be done.

Nobody can do it for you.

Whatever you decide Dany, please be aware that, as it stands, I loath you.

I believe you epitomise all those things wrong in professional sports.

Honestly, I believe your “professional” life would make a great childrens book.  A childrens book of what not to do, of how not to behave, of what can happen to a glorious opportunity, when it gets thrust upon a man of low moral character.

I also do not have any faith in your ability to take my advice, or that of someone elses, that does not include putting yourself ahead of everything, and everyone around you.

But, hey, that’s just my opinion.

You will do, what YOU decide to do.

GN

One Response to “Dany Boy, A Little Advice…”

  1. BOW TO YOUR SENSAY!!!

Leave a Reply

