The Sun Goes Down…For Good.


With more vapid Spezza slagging articles, lacking entirely in any journalistic integrity, or value, I am now officially boycotting the Ottawa Sun.

Oh sure, whipidy-do, like it’s going to make any difference, I know that, but at least it leaves me feeling like I have an ounce of integrity.

See ya Ottawa Sun, enjoy your worthless existence, while it lasts…

Oh, and TEAM 1200, if I hear B.G., or any SunMedia personality on your shows, I’m letting your advertisers know their presence means I will purposely avoid their businesses.

Feel free to jump on the bandwagon while there’s still room!

GN

P.S.  Here’s my letter to Ottawa Sun sports editor Tim Baines ( tim.baines@sunmedia.ca )

Mr. Baines,
Far be it from me to tell you how to do your job. I’m not an editor, and I surely do not face the economic, and professional challenges of an editor while writing this letter. But, as a customer, I believe it would be in your best interest to at least consider my views.
The recent coverage by your sports department, of the Ottawa Senators, has been appalling. To categorize it as bona-fide journalism would be an affront to any and all professionals in your chosen field. I can appreciate the need to sell papers, and I suspect hockey is a major driver in so doing, but using third rate tabloid reporting in an effort to do so serves neither you, nor your customers, in the long run.
Please make an effort to focus more on factual reporting and less on innuendo laden personal opinion within your department. As it stands now, I will no longer waste my time reading your reporting, and will campaign to have others do the same, until the standard to which you hold your writers improves.
Do not forget Mr. Baines, having hockey coverage is wonderful, we hockey fans all want it, but as the customers of this media, it is our responsibility to ensure its existence is not at odds with the foundation of our interest, the team itself. I do not watch hockey so as to have a reason to read the newspaper, or listen to sports radio, so I’ll be damned if I’ll let the media put my interest, the Senators, at risk, so they can turn a bigger profit, at MY expense.

Gerald Norton (sensay.wordpress.com)

9 Responses to “The Sun Goes Down…For Good.”

  1. A noble cause

  2. I watched their little video, and it couldn’t have been more pro get the #$#@ out of my town propaganda.

    http://www.ottawasun.com/sports/hockey/2010/06/21/14462771.html#/sports/hockey/2010/06/21/pf-14465416.html

    I subscribe to the paper for the overall sports coverage, but now I am seriously considering your stance GN.

    KJ

  3. "D"Fence Says:

    I strongly agree and I would encourage others to boycott the Sun tabloid as well. I personally haven’t read it for a few years now, however I do get exposed to Garrioch’s idiocy through this, and other Senators blogs. He should be the one who’s run out of town for the lack of integrity he shows through his “journalism”.

  4. Journalismist Says:

    Why not contact the sports editor or whatever
    let them know that there is a significant portion of the fanbase that feels entirely opposed to the things they are publishing
    As factchecking and ethics relatively matter
    they may look into it if they keep getting complaints
    Write in
    I; we: the fans of the Ottawa Senators, are being misrepresented in the media

    • Have done so, and encourage all like minded persons to do the same. Here is a copy of my letter to Tim Baines, sports editor at the Ottawa Sun;

      Mr. Baines,
      Far be it from me to tell you how to do your job. I’m not an editor, and I surely do not face the economic, and professional challenges of an editor while writing this letter. But, as a customer, I believe it would be in your best interest to at least consider my views.
      The recent coverage by your sports department, of the Ottawa Senators, has been appalling. To categorize it as bona-fide journalism would be an affront to any and all professionals in your chosen field. I can appreciate the need to sell papers, and I suspect hockey is a major driver in so doing, but using third rate tabloid reporting in an effort to do so serves neither you, nor your customers, in the long run.
      Please make an effort to focus more on factual reporting and less on innuendo laden personal opinion within your department. As it stands now, I will no longer waste my time reading your reporting, and will campaign to have others do the same, until the standard to which you hold your writers improves.
      Do not forget Mr. Baines, having hockey coverage is wonderful, we hockey fans all want it, but as the customers of this media, it is our responsibility to ensure its existence is not at odds with the foundation of our interest, the team itself. I do not watch hockey so as to have a reason to read the newspaper, or listen to sports radio, so I’ll be damned if I’ll let the media put my interest, the Senators, at risk, so they can turn a bigger profit, at MY expense.
      Gerald Norton (sensay.wordpress.com)

  5. thanks for the idea.. I’ve created a group to start the campaign..feel free to join in!!!

    http://www.facebook.com/groups/edit.php?customize&gid=126755524028717#!/group.php?gid=126755524028717&v=wall

  6. Who is Justin Sadler the crime reporter/neighbourhood watch?

    Garriock is being fed…but he and Murray are right about the $4 mill “Bonus” after July 1st… Spezza then demands a trade and Edmonton/Columbus sit and watch him go to one of the “Halves” of the League for under $6 mill per…Yuk!

  7. Agreed. The sun is a joke.

    I have deleted my RSS feeds from the sun, including their Off The Posts blog.

    The only thing I will miss is the daily sun girls… NOT!

  8. Did anyone notice when the Sun reported that Neil Young and Pearl Jam were being added to the Bluesfest lineup? The paper’s problems are not restricted to the Sports Section.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

